

2023-2024 SELF MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP PROFILE

The Madison and Lila Self Memorial Scholarship is a merit-based scholarship that recognizes outstanding seniors from the University of Kansas who will be transitioning into their first year of a master's or doctoral degree program at KU in the fall semester. This scholarship award provides each recipient with \$10,000 for their first year, with half payable to the student at the beginning of the first semester of enrollment in the graduate program (fall/\$5,000), and half payable at the beginning of the second semester of enrollment (spring/\$5,000). In addition to funding, Self Memorial Scholars have access to a \$1,000 professional development award and participation in a Scholar Development Program.

The Scholar Development Program is a distinguishing feature of the Self Memorial Scholarship. Madison and Lila Self intended for the program to orient Scholars and to enhance their vision of potential professional careers. This program provides general education and training in career development, communication, and leadership to assist Self Memorial Scholars in their preparation for future leadership roles, complementing the specialized education and training provided in their graduate program.

Self Memorial Scholars have demonstrated success as undergraduate students and potential for success in graduate education. Self Memorial Scholars are selected because they have shown achievement in leadership and scholarship and possess the ability to envision and attain goals that require exceptional energy and tenacity.

This year 19 Self Memorial Scholars are pursuing 11 graduate degrees in 6 schools, including 5 doctoral and 14 master's degrees at the University of Kansas. The current Scholars are among 82 students who have benefited from the scholarship since it was established in 2018.

School of Business (1)

Business Analytics

School of Education and Human Sciences (1)

Higher Education Administration

School of Engineering (5)

Aerospace Engineering Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (4)

School of Pharmacy (1)

Medicinal Chemistry

College of Liberal Arts and Science (9)

History
Geology
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
City and County Management
Speech-Language Pathology (5)

School of Social Welfare (2)

Social Work

The 19 current Self Memorial Scholars come from 5 U.S. states (Kansas, Missouri, Michigan, Oklahoma, and South Dakota) and 1 international country (Honduras).