

2024–2025 SELF GRADUATE FELLOWSHIP PROFILE

The Madison and Lila Self Graduate Fellowship offers a special opportunity for students pursuing a Ph.D. at the University of Kansas. The fellowship seeks students with attributes that will put them on track to make a difference in the world and in their professions.

The total value of the four-year doctoral fellowship exceeds \$200,000. Self Graduate Fellows for 2024–2025 will receive \$36,000 each year for four years. Payment is through appointment as a graduate research assistant. The fellowship covers tuition, fees, and the employer's share of student health insurance costs. Over the four years, fellows have access to a \$5,500 professional development award, \$5,000 start-up award (year 1), and a \$1,000 textbook and technology award (year 2,3,4). All fellows also participate in the Fellow Development Program.

The Fellow Development Program is a distinctive feature of the fellowship. It provides education and training in communication, management, innovation, leadership, and policy to assist fellows in preparing for future leadership roles, complementing the specialized education and training provided in Ph.D. programs.

This year 47 fellows are pursuing 23 Ph.D.'s in five schools at the University of Kansas. The current fellows are among 250 students who have benefited from the fellowship since it was established in 1989.

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (22)

Anthropology (1) Chemistry (6)

Computational Biology (1)

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (3)

Economics (1)

Geography and Atmospheric Science (3)

Geology (2)

Mathematics (1)

Molecular Biosciences (2)

Physics and Astronomy (2)

School of Engineering (10)

Aerospace Engineering (5)

Bioengineering (1)

Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering (2)

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (1)

Mechanical Engineering (1)

School of Medicine (KU Medical Center) (10)

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (2)

Cell Biology and Anatomy (1)

Microbiology, Molecular Genetics, and Immunology (1)

Molecular and Integrative Physiology (2)

Neuroscience (3)

Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics (1)

School of Pharmacy (4)

Pharmaceutical Chemistry (4)

School of Business (1)

Accounting (1)

The 47 current Self Graduate Fellows hold undergraduate and graduate degrees from 33 colleges and universities in 18 U.S. states and one U.S. Territory.

Butler University Drury University

Central Washington University

Colorado College

College of Saint Benedict

Florida Golf Coast University Florida Institute of Technology

Fort Lewis College Illinois State University Kansas State University

Milwaukee School of Engineering

MidAmerica Nazarene University

Missouri State University

New Mexico State University

Northern Arizona University Southern Nazarene University

University of Arkansas

University of California, San Diego University of California, Santa Barbara

University of Central Arkansas

University of Kansas

University of Kentucky

University of Michigan

University of Minnesota Twin Cities

University of Missouri

University of Missouri-Kansas City

University of New Mexico

University of Pittsburgh

University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Wheaton College

William Jewell College